Episode 2 Recap

February 28, 2008 at 2:50 pm | Posted in Aimee, Allison, Amis, Anya, Atalya, Claire, Dominique, episode recap, Fatima, judges, Katarzyna, Kimberly, Lauren, Marvita, news, spoilers, StacyAnn, Whitney | 1 Comment
Tags: , , , ,

New York, Here We Come
It was another exciting episode of ANTM last night, complete with ‘the most shocking elimination in ANTM history’ which I pretty much called (see my Episode 2 predictions post).

A quick note about the opening… up until this point, the opening has always featured past ANTM winners… however, I think that Tyra realized that with excluding Adrienne and Scandaleisha, people may notice, and so she decided to make it all about her. You’re so clever, Tyra. For those of you conspiracy theorists, here’s the order:

Anya, Atalya, Whitney, Fatima, Kimberly, Dominique, Marvita, Amis, Aimee, Allison, Stacy-Ann, Claire, Katarzyna, Lauren

So, the girls arrive in New York, and we get a few touristy glances around the city. They have breakfast(?) and a discussion about how awesome it is to be on ANTM. Blah, blah. One funny note… Amis says she changed her name to that because it’s in the Bible, and it took me the whole rest of the episode to figure out what on earth she was talking about. It’s AMOS – a minor Old Testament prophet, who was a man and spelled his name with an “O,” not an “I.” Just clearing that up.

They get a note, head to their loft, and more screaming ensues (for how many more episodes do we have to put up with the screaming?)

I’m not horribly impressed with the loft. There are bunk beds and one huge bed (is that supposed to be more economical? or is it really that low-budget this cycle that they can’t afford more beds?) There are posters of former ANTMers, including one of Robin C1 that is quoted as saying:

If you stand for – nothing – you’ll fall for anything.

Besides the atrocious punctuation that was obviously just put there to puzzle and confuse English majors, Robin wasn’t exactly the first one to ever say that, so I think they’re giving her rather undue credit. Ever heard of Aaron Tippin? John Mellencamp? ALEXANDER HAMILTON???Kim gets scolded for going outside to smoke, which she doesn’t think will make her any less of a model… silly girl, doesn’t she realize she’s not auditioning to be just any old model… she’s auditioning to be a Tyra Banks model.The Jays arrive, there is more screaming, and their wisked off to Times Square for their Badgley Mischka fashion show. Hoorah. We didn’t get to see much of it, but we saw enough to know that Marvita and Lauren bombed it, and Claire, Katarzyna, and Dominique rocked it (just as I predicted).

I almost forgot to mention the catfights in this episode:

Fatima
vs. Amis
Amis is running her mouth, Fatima tells her she acts like a clown, and then later goes on to say “I didn’t know I could actually make people feel upset. It’s interesting,” as she smiles her manipulative little smirk.

Fatima vs. Marvita
Sensing a pattern here? Fatima flings her arm out and hits Marvita, Marvita says that she’s never met a mean African except for her, and then when Marvita tells her story, Fatima breaks down and apologizes, claiming she had no idea. Because obviously, it’s okay to act like a complete jerk to people who haven’t been homeless, abused, and raped.

So, then it’s time for Tyra mail (as I once again plug my ears to muffle the screaming). They read it off of a scrolling machine, which drives me absolutely nuts… it sounds like a classroom full of kindergarteners when you take it one… word… at… a .. time.

It’s critical for a new face to make a great first impression.

And the silly girls think that Tyra’s talking about them. Obviously, though, the message is referring to Paulina, whom the girls meet. No big surprises there (at least not if you’ve seen the previews). And when Paulina is through ripping the girls apart, there’s a taxi limo waiting for them (because that’s SOOOOOO eco-friendly).

Homeless Youth Photo Shoot
A spokesperson for the Reciprocity Foundation was there, which was good, but I wish they would have given her more screen time to explain her organization… it really seemed to be somewhat of an afterthought. They posed as homeless people among others dressed in high fashion couture clothing, which made absolutely no sense to me. The whole concept seemed rather contrived and thrown together at the last minute, and I’m not exactly sure what message they were trying to get across… you can still be fierce even if you’re the worst-dressed person in the alley?

Oh, and Tyra of course brings it up in panel that she was homeless for (wait for it…) a whole day. With video cameras following her around. For her talk show.

Judging Panel
On to the judging panel, where I’m going to get this “shocking elimination” out of the way right away. Kimberly quits. She quits because she isn’t into high fashion, isn’t interested in designers, and thinks it’s stupid to pay $2000 for an outfit. While I can see where she’s coming from… the show’s been on for nine cycle now… and you’re telling me you didn’t know what it was all about? Whatever. I’m just glad she quit now instead of hanging in there like Ebony C9, when she had no desire to be ANTM anyways.

Now that’s out of the way… here’s what the judges and I thought of each photo (in order from my favorite to my least favorite photos):

CLAIRE

Okay, so maybe I’m a bit biased because she’s my fave, but she totally rocked this shot. She looks homeless, edgy, and a bit harsh, but also – as Mr Jay said – is selling the clothing in every frame. Yes, her hand was awkwardly placed in that particular shot, but Tyra even mentioned that the rest of her film was also just stunning.

WHITNEY

She managed to pull off homelessness and still looked like a model in the process. I was rather impressed. The judges were as well, and said she looked like she had a wind machine on her.

ANYA

She looked like a dancer to me here, very graceful and self-aware. The judges raved about her bone structure, and Tyra claimed that she would be harder on Anya because she was already good. Right, Tyra… that’s what you said last cycle to Scandaleisha… and we all know how that turned out.

KATARZYNA

And Tyra had to ask how to pronounce it… again. Very lame.
But on to the photo… she blends in more than I’d like, but she looks both homeless and modelesque. Her arms are a bit awkward, but her face looks good.

LAUREN

I thought it had an interesting awkwardness about it, and an alright face. MsJay raved about the lighting, but I guess I credit that more to the photographer, photoshopper, and set crew than to the model. Nigel also mentioned that her nerves would terrify any photographer, which caused a short, somewhat heated dialogue between him and Paulina, which Tyra seemed to enjoy a bit too much.

AIMEE

Although she seemed to blend in a bit more than I’d like, her face is awesome (oh, and Tyra agreed with me.)

MARVITA

She had pluses and negatives… she did look homeless, and did have a nice-looking face, but she also looked like a man. Tyra called her glam, but I would have to disagree.

DOMINIQUE

I thought it looked over-exaggerated, but I did like that she tried to use props. So, a few points for creativity. The judges had a few critiques… basically saying that she looks “dragilicious” and shorter than she actually is.

STACY-ANN

Initially, I was surprised at the pose, which seemed a bit daring, but then Tyra mentioned that she used the same five poses the whole time, and I ceased being impressed. By the way, are they going to start singing her audition music EVERY time they mention her? It was funny the first time.


FATIMA

I thought she really got lost in this shot, and her crying looks completely contrived. Plus, she’s doing that staring-up-at-the-light thing that they scolded Amis for doing. Unfortunately, the judges didn’t agree with me, and thought it was awesome… although, they admitted, the ONLY awesome shot of her entire film.

ATALYA

To me, this photo was boring. I really had nothing to say about it at all… it wasn’t horrible, but I didn’t really get anything out of it either. Apparently the judges felt the same way.

ALLISON

She looked to me like she was dancing at a rave, and not in a good way. She looked like she had an idea of what she thought a model should look like, but had no idea how to pull it off. Mr. Jay also had no positive things to say about this shot and blamed her pilates, which I think was kind of ridiculous… pilates give you BETTER posture and self-awareness, not worse. I do love, love, LOVE how they compare her to an upper-east-side princess-wannabe. Hilarious, because it’s totally true.

AMIS

This shot reminded me of a cheesy musical. It made me laugh, which I’m fairly certain wasn’t the desired effect. Tyra calls her a beauty without a clue. Very true.

So, here’s the call-out order for you statistic-obsessed folks:

Anya, Claire (I echoed her “yay” as she was called out second), Whitney, Lauren, Aimee, Fatima, Marvita, Katarzyna, StacyAnn, Dominique, Allison, and the bottom two: Amis and Atalya (eliminated).

1 Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Hello,

    I was looking through your blog and found that you have been keeping statistics on ANTM (all seasons?) with call out number, competition wins, etc.

    Is there anyway I could get a copy of these statistics? I could go through your blog and copy what I find, but if you have them in a central place (such as an excel file) that would be wonderful! I am currently working on a paper analyzing race, sex and class in ANTM. Two colleagues and I coded all nine seasons (we are hoping to finish before the 10th has aired). Having these statistics might help us make sense of what is going on with the show.

    Let me know. And if you are interested, I could always send you a copy of the paper when we do finish it.

    Thanks!
    Bridget


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

