Cycle 10: The Girls in Review

May 20, 2008 at 7:38 pm | Posted in Uncategorized | 4 Comments

t’s now time to look back upon the entire cycle as a whole, as we ask ourselves… how good was cycle 10 anyways?

Episode 1: The Girls Who Scream
Way back in February we finally got a chance to meet the fourteen girls whose pictures we had studied, critiqued, and debated, and were finally able to match personalities with names. Though many people were impressed by some of the semi-finalists, I for one was not. I’m sensing a severe lack in model potential from recent ANTM wannabes.

Episode 2: The Girl Who Hates Fashion

Kimberly – I predicted she would be “Most Likely to be Sent Home for Being Just Another Pretty Face.” Turns out, she turned them down before they turned her down, and I’m still trying to figure out if this was a good move on her part or not. On one hand, if you have no interest in being a model, you have no business on the show, but the whole thing really could have been prevented if she had figured it out sooner. Apparently she did show her face at the Fierce awards, and even won an award for “most dramatic exit,” but besides that, she has been laying low since her dramatic confession that she didn’t want to be there.
Her elimination: Thumbs up. I don’t that she would have had the street smarts for the industry anyways, and her picture wasn’t that great. Though she had a unique look, she had no idea how to use it.
Her entertainment value: 7 out of 10. She made me laugh a few times, but wasn’t really on long enough to show her “really down-to-earth” side.
Her post-show model potential: 1 out of 10. She could probably use this exposure to launch some other media-type attention-craving career, but she really did lose any chance of a future career the moment she said that she wasn’t really that interested in fashion.

Atalya – I predicted she would be “Most Likely to be the Hidden Threat.” And I couldn’t have been further off with that prediction. Between her boring photo that screamed “homeless” but not “model” and her middle-school Christmas concert dress and ponytail at judging panel, there was really nothing intriguing or model-like about her at all. It kind of makes you wonder what they saw in casting.
Her elimination: Thumbs up. Though it would have been nice to see what kind of makeover Tyra would give her, she really was just a little too “girl-next-door.”
Her entertainment value: 1 out of 10. I consider her the most forgettable girl this cycle.
Her post-show model potential: 3 out of 10. While she still got out early enough to be spared the ANTM-stigma, unless her portfolio vastly improves from the pics that I’ve been seeing, I don’t really expect to see much of her in the future. She’s a bit too cute; a bit too ordinary; and a bit too “safe” for today’s industry.

Episode 3: The Girl Who Won’t Say Thank You

Allison – I voted her “Most Likely to be Criticized for Looking Like an Actress.” Although it didn’t seem too much of a concern during the show, plenty of the message boards were buzzing about her resemblance to certain actresses. Not that moving away from that in the makeover episode did her much good; I personally thought that the black looked edgier.
Her elimination: Thumbs down. Although at the time I really wanted her to go because she was driving me nuts with her stuck-up attitude in the house, and I did think that her homeless picture was terrible and she did an awful job listening on set, the fact that she went before others with better personalities but less model potential did rub me the wrong way.
Her entertainment value: 7 out of 10. She had a personality that in some ways you love to hate. I know I was constantly wondering what she was going to say next or who was going to annoy her and how.
Her post-show model potential: 7 out of 10. She’s already been producing test shots left and right, and considering her prior work outside of the States, she obviously has some idea what she’s doing and will probably make it just fine without any help from Tyra and crew (which does make me wonder what she was thinking being on the show anyways…) Love her or hate her, she’s definitely determined enough to make it.

Episode 4: The Girl Who Can’t Focus

Amis – I predicted she’d be “Most Likely to Lose Her Spark,” and in a way, she kind of did. Though she was still her bubbly, crazy self, she did seem to lose her deep desire to be there, and it became more and more apparent that she was just there for the fun experience (and who can blame her? I’m sure it’d be a blast!)
Her elimination: Thumbs up. She probably could have gone sooner, in fact. Though she’s a wonderful person with a great attitude and fun disposition, that doesn’t necessarily go along with being a model, and it was obvious she had no idea what she was doing.
Her entertainment value: 8 out of 10. This girl was nuts, in a good way. And she definitely kept people wondering what crazy idea she’d come up with next. But I couldn’t help thinking at least some of it was somewhat staged.
Her post-show model potential: 2 out of 10. I could see her as a talk show host, as a comedian, or even as a fashion designer, but not a model. She just doesn’t have the necessary composure and poise that even the crazy contestants like Jael could pull off when they wanted to.

Episode 5: The Girls Who Paint the Town

Marvita – I predicted that she’d be “Most likely to get the most second chances,” so I was a bit surprised that she was eliminated so early. I was also surprised that after being a comeback model from a previous cycle, that it was actually her lack of determination that caused her elimination.
Her elimination: Thumbs up. The photo was awful, and her shots before that weren’t so great, either. Add onto that her awful runway walk during the Badgley Mitchka show and I think it was a bit past her time.
Her entertainment value: 4 out of 10. If it hadn’t been for the fact that she was a comeback model from last cycle, I really don’t know that many people would remember much about her. She did have a few good moments — especially in some of the bonus clips shown on the recap episode, that really were quite funny.
Her post-show model potential: 4 of 10. I think that she could pull off a good career if she really wanted to and was really determined and committed to it, but for some reason I really don’t see her doing that — I think partially because we haven’t heard a thing about her at all since she exited the ANTM house. Where are you Marvita?

Episode 6: The Girls Who Rock

Aimee – I predicted her “most likely to be eliminated on the male model shoot,” but she sadly didn’t even last that long. A huge waste, IMO. She had the looks, she had the body, she had the enthusiasm, and she just needed direction as to how to use it and obviously they weren’t able to help her out there. Crying shame.
Her elimination: Major thumbs down. So her meat and music shots weren’t really strong… but her others were just lovely, and — contrary to what Tyra may think — R&B is a hard genre to portray. I would have loved to see her do some of the other later photo shoots.
Her entertainment value: 5 out of 10. Though she wasn’t the most exciting girl in the house, I enjoyed watching her as she seemed to grow and progress. There were a few “huh?” moments thrown in there, like the whole showering debate that seemed just a bit out of place, but were obviously there to sway our opinions about her.
Her post-show model potential: 8 out of 10 With enough time, a good agent, and a half-decent photography director, I think she can do anything. I have tons of confidence in her, and considering she’s already signed (yay!), all I can say is that I’m really looking forward to seeing more of her work!

Episode 7: The Girl Who Does a Nose-Dive

Claire – I predicted that she’d be “most likely to make us laugh,” and she did for the most part. I found her to be one of the best personalities in the house, and thoroughly enjoyed her enthusiasm. Obviously, though, Tyra had it out for her, because she was sent home far too soon.
Her elimination: Big thumbs down. I thought her Fuerza-Bruta shot was lovely and — contrary to what Tyra said — quite soft and delicate. With a great, edgy look, good proportions, great enthusiasm, and a sense of humor, she would have been an ideal ANTM.
Her entertainment value: 8 out of 10. If Claire had a show, I’d watch it. She was intelligent, she was funny, and her lifestyle and some of the things she did on camera really did take you by surprise.
Her post-show model potential: 8 out of 10. The only thing that she has against her right now is time, since she is older than many just-starting-out models. I’m looking forward to seeing what she does in the future.

Episode 9: The Girls Who are Jetsetters

Stacey-Ann – I predicted that she’d be “most likely to have a nervous breakdown,” and once again was wrong. Though she definitely didn’t seem too pleased in her post-show interviews talking about her controversial elimination.
Her elimination: One thumb up, one thumb down. Though I never really saw her appeal and thought that she should have gone home sooner, I have no idea how one could justify sending her home against someone who missed the photo shoot (except of course, that I’m sure the photo shoot/consulate appointment issue was rigged by ANTM producers so that Fatima would have to miss one or the other). Either way, Stacey-Ann sure did get the short end of the stick.
Her entertainment value: 6 out of 10. I felt like we really didn’t see much of Stacey-Ann through this cycle, and that tends to make me think that she was a bit less entertaining than some of the other girls. Yet the parts they did show of Stacey-Ann were in fact quite entertaining (think: her dance during the first episode).
Her post-show model potential: 5 out of 10. Like I said, I don’t see her appeal, but I do know that a lot of people thought she was great, so who knows, maybe she will have a great future career. Personally, I think the reason she made it as far as she did was because she had a good reality TV personality.

Episode 10: The Girl Who is Not a CoverGirl

Lauren – I voted her “most likely to be sent home for not being committed,” and in a way, that was accurate, because they seemed to think that she didn’t try at all on her CoverGirl commercial. And oh what a CoverGirl commercial that was! Absolutely painful.
Her elimination: Thumbs up. She had a few great photos, but seemed to kind of “luck into” all of them (except perhaps the meat shot, where she actually had a character in mind). With an atrocious walk on top of that, I was surprised that Tyra’s “project girl” this cycle made it that far.
Her entertainment value: 7 out of 10. Her rough-around-the-edges personality did make for interesting reality TV for awhile there, and watching her try to fit in with the rest of the modely-type models did add quite a bit to the ANTM storyline this cycle.
Her post-show model potential: 3 out of 10. It would take some major training for her to be successful in the modeling industry, and with all the other creative outlets that she has going for her, I think she just might realize that modeling’s not worth the headache and trouble… and then go on to be successful in another area of her life.

Episode 11: The Girl Whose Name Tyra Still Can’t Pronounce

Katarzyna – Just as I predicted, she was “most likely to be the fan favorite,” and judging by the stats on this site, her page was viewed many, many more times than anyone else’s, meaning she was definitely one of your favorites. Unfortunately, Tyra obviously didn’t share the same feelings of positivity and goodwill towards Ka-TAR-zna (as she said).
Her elimination: Thumbs WAY down. Her elimination was totally bogus. ‘Nuff said.
Her entertainment value: 3 out of 10. Yes, she’s cutesy, and yes she had her moments, but I really did find watching her runway walk and seeing her photos as the most interesting things about her to watch. Now I have no doubts that this has a lot to do with editing. For the record, I’d love to be her friend… I just don’t think that she gave the editors nearly the amount of drama that they were expecting.
Her post-show model potential: 9 out of 10. If she were to choose to continue pursuing modeling (which it sounds like she is), she’ll be great. She has the look, she has the poise, she has the class, and she has the brains.

Episode 12: The Girl Who Still Looks too Masculine

Dominique – I predicted she’d be “most likely to get her hair chopped off and cry about it.” I was partially right… she did get it chopped off. I’m glad she wasn’t the crying type; I imagine that might have been even more obnoxious than her incessant positive self-talk.
Her elimination: Thumbs up. She should have been gone LONG before, and I really do think that they just kept her around for her reality TV personality appeal. Yes, she had confidence, but it came off as quite delusional and drove everyone nuts.
Her entertainment value: 7 out of 10. Let’s face it, every cycle needs a Jade. It wouldn’t be ANTM without the constant chatter about how awesome oneself is, or how much one deserves to be there. Yes, it gets old after awhile, but without Dominique the show certainly would have been a lot less colorful.
Her post-show model potential: 6 out of 10. I do think that there may be a niche for models like Dom. And there’s no doubt in my mind that she’ll continue pursuing modeling, but let’s just say I don’t expect to see her plastered on magazine covers anytime soon.

Episode 13: The Girls Who Were Very Gracious Losers

Fatima – My prediction was that she’d be “most likely to make everyone in the house hate her,” and I think she was pretty successful in doing just that. Towards the end there, though, I felt myself lightening up on my dislike of her, and I do believe that she left a much more gracious loser than she had come in as.
Her elimination: Thumbs up. I honestly think her elimination should have been WAY sooner, but, hey, at least she was around long enough to pull of a few good shots (such as her CoverGirl one, which is quite lovely. And she was around long enough to somewhat redeem her from her negative and obnoxious attitudes from the earlier episodes.
Her entertainment value: 8 out of 10. Again, a lot of what she said and did annoyed me. But I can’t deny that it also entertained me. How much fun would it be watching everyone get along? ANTM wouldn’t do that to us! So, they gave us Fatima, to cleverly instigate fights, to do what she wants and ask questions later, to point out everyone’s faults, and to keep us interested.
Her post-show model potential: 9.5 out of 10. I think that Fatima is going to do very well for herself. She has a unique look, strong features, and a very determined attitude. She had improved so much over the course of the cycle that I think she would be much more successful now than if she had just tried to jump into the modeling world without going through ANTM first. I see her becoming another Bianca, with great photos and a successful workload very soon after ANTM.

Anya– I predicted that she’d be the girl “I’m Most likely to love and hate (at the same time),” and she surprised me. I actually ended up liking her a lot more than hating her. She really was a much better model than I expected, and also much more intelligent than they made her out to be in the first few episodes.
Her elimination: Still undecided. If ANTM were based on actual abilities, I think that she should have won, hands down. But ANTM is really more about making statements and giving people chances, so I can see why she wasn’t chosen. I am glad that she made it to the top two.
Her entertainment value: 5 out of 10. Sure, she’s sweet; and I’d love to be her friend. But throw fourteen Anyas on a TV show together and you’d get more Brady Bunch than ANTM. An incredibly high-fashion Brady Bunch, but with all the sugary sweetness, kindness, and compassion that ANTM just wouldn’t know what to do with.
Her post-show model potential: 10 out of 10. She’s going to make it far; mark my words.

Whitney – So… my girl who was “least likely to win” actually ended up pulling it off, one way or another. I went from liking her a lot to not liking her so much to liking her again, but not quite as much as before. Whitney… I just don’t know what to think about you.
Her win: Again, still undecided (see Anya’s)
Her entertainment value: 6 out of 10. At first, she seemed a bit one-dimensional with the plus-size modeling thing. As the cycle went on, she became more interesting as she struggled in photo shoots, overcame disappointments, and joined in fights in the house. Towards the end, all eyes focused back to her plus-sizedness and she once again became somewhat one-dimensional.
Her post-show model potential: 9 out of 10. She has Elite; she has CoverGirl; she has a good thing going for her. I’m sure we’ll see plenty more of her in the next year, and it’ll be interesting to see what kind of career she’s able to enjoy after the dust has settled.

4 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. you took the words right out of my mouth. whitney- i didnt really care much about her. i liked her, then hated her, and now that she won i kinda like but not as much.
    anya and katarzyna will hopefully be the most successful models out of this bunch.
    also after reading this i found that i forgot alot about the girls already. like i forgot about aimee, even though i really liked her, and i forgot about stacyann and uhhhh…o yeah allison. see what i mean? i just read about her and it still doesnt stick. anyways, this was a cool review! 🙂

  2. I agree with practically everything you said. I’m glad to hear that Katarzyna’s page is the most visited. I LOVE HER.

  3. Nice review. And you’re probably right about most of them. I personally didn’t ever like Katarzyna that much and all her pictures look kind of the same (although she had a killer runway), but I’m sure she’ll be a great model. As will Fatima and Anya. I hope Aimee keeps at it, too. I don’t understand why they were so hard on her for that R&B shot, especially when Dom’s hippee shot looked so manly. Oh wait, all her shots looked manly.

  4. I laughed when i read “14 anyas in one house” hahaha

    I agree with most of the analysis given. I had a feeling Anya wasn’t going to win because of the idea of the show didn’t seem to aim for high fashion as much as trying to change to world ( miss america?)

    Although I somewhat disagree with Claire’s elimination at the time, I’m not really sure how far she would have gone if she wasn’t eliminated. She has a good heart and outward personality but her poses seem too posey and facial expressions don’t seem that diverse. A bit boring 😡 But otherwise I felt she should have lasted longer.

    Maybe you should post the order you wished it would have ended up now that you’ve seen ANTM. 😀


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

